Hot answers tagged


What Samuel Johnson, the king, and parliament all ignored was the fact that the 13 colonies, unlike later 19th century colonies or some 18th century colonies, were not part of, nor totally possessions of, the Kingdom of Great Britain. Instead they were conceived when created to be miniature Englands where the English settlers would govern themselves with ...

Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible