Why are the following states independent and not a part of Saudi Arabia? Qatar, UAE, Oman, Yemen, and Kuwait

While their annexation might be difficult in our current time period, it should have been much less politically dangerous during the Saudi Unification wars.


Under the terms of The Treaty of Darin with the United Kingdom, signed Dec. 26, 1915 in exchange for recognition of sovereignty, ibn Saud contracted to not attack Kuwait, Qatar, and the Trucial States (Oman).

Yemen has traditionally not been claimed by the House of Saud for geographical reasons, including physical separation, distinct terrain, and the existence of a natural border in the form of the separating mountain range.

| improve this answer | |

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.