3 of 3 edited title

Why did some colonies of the British Empire have their own currencies?

For example, South Africa used the South African pound; Canada used the Canadian pound/dollar; Singapore, Brunei, and Malaysia used the Malaya and British Borneo dollar.

Why did they not use the pound sterling? Would it not be more convenient to have all colonies use the same currency?