Skip to main content

For questions on German Empire, Weimar Republic, German Democratic Republic and the modern Federal Republic of Germany. Questions regarding the Third Reich should be tagged with Nazi-Germany.

The German Empire existed from 1871 to 1918 and was the result of a unification of German states largely driven forward by Prussia. After World War I a parliamentary republic replaced the monarchy. This so-called Weimar Republic existed from 1919 to 1933. After Adolf Hitler came to power in 1933 he gradually dismantled the republic, starting a period of German history called Third Reich. This period ended in 1945 with Germany's defeat in World War 2 and occupation by allied forces. In 1949, the British, American and French occupation zones merged into Federal Republic of Germany, a parliamentary republic, and the Soviet occupation zone became German Democratic Republic, a socialist republic. Germany was reunified in 1990 with the German Democratic Republic joining the Federal Republic of Germany.