Skip to main content

For questions regarding the Indian sub-continent, today corresponding to the nations of Pakistan, India, and Bangladesh.

Today, India is a country in South Asia. It is the seventh-largest country by geographical area, and the most populous country with over 1.4 billion people. Bounded by the Indian Ocean on the south, the Arabian Sea on the south-west, and the Bay of Bengal on the south-east, it shares land borders with Pakistan to the west; China, Nepal, and Bhutan to the north-east; and Burma and Bangladesh to the east. In the Indian Ocean, India is in the vicinity of Sri Lanka and the Maldives; in addition, India's Andaman and Nicobar Islands share a maritime border with Thailand and Indonesia.