Skip to main content

For questions relating to the Sasanian/Sassanid (or Neo-Persian) Empire

The Sasanian (or Sassanid) Empire, sometimes called Neo-Persian Empire was the last kingdom of the Persian Empire before the rise of Islam, ruling from 224 to 651 CE.

At its greatest extent, the Sasanian Empire encompassed all of today's Iran, Iraq, Eastern Arabia (Bahrain, Kuwait, Oman, Qatif, Qatar, UAE), the Levant (Syria, Palestine, Lebanon, Israel, Jordan), the Caucasus (Armenia, Georgia, Azerbaijan, Dagestan), Egypt, large parts of Turkey, much of Central Asia (Afghanistan, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan, Tajikistan), Yemen and Pakistan.